A Doctor of Science (DSc or ScD) is a doctorate whose meaning depends on where it’s awarded. In the UK it’s typically a higher doctorate: an award above the PhD, made for a long record of published research, not a course. At the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in the US it’s a doctorate you study for, much like a PhD. Aalto University in Finland has one you study for too.
So the same letters can describe a first doctorate or a senior award that comes many years into a career. You may have seen ‘DSc’ after a name, be weighing one against a PhD, or be wondering whether your own publications might qualify. Either way, the answer starts with which kind you’re looking at. Below, we set out what the title means by country and the rules at nine UK universities, so you can decide what to do next.
What does Doctor of Science mean in different countries?
A Doctor of Science degree comes in two kinds. One is a senior award that follows a long research record or an earlier doctorate. The other is a research doctorate you study for. The table shows examples of each, so you can see which kind you’re looking at.
| Where | What it is | Against a PhD | Example we checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| UK | Higher doctorate, for published work | Above | QAA, the UK’s higher education quality body, and the rules at nine universities (below) |
| New Zealand | Higher doctorate, for published work | Not compared on the page | University of Otago: hold a degree for at least five years; three examiners |
| India | Highest degree, after a PhD | Above | Alagappa University and Gurukula Kangri: a PhD, then 15 years’ work and at least 70 indexed papers |
| Russia | Second doctoral degree (Doktor nauk) | Comes after the first doctoral degree, Kandidat nauk | Kazan Federal University |
| US | Doctorate you study for | Same or similar | MIT, Washington University in St. Louis (WashU) |
| Finland | Doctorate you study for: Doctor of Science (Technology) | Not compared on the pages we read | Aalto University: target of four years full-time |
These are examples, not a rule for every university in a country. The two Indian universities above, for instance, set very similar rules for candidates, though not identical ones. We didn’t check others in full, so read your own university’s regulations.
Germany is a useful contrast, because the name differs. At the University of Bonn, the natural sciences doctorate is the Dr. rer. nat., which its LIMES Institute calls ‘the German equivalent of a Ph.D.’ If you want to see how doctorates work elsewhere on the continent, our guide to doing a PhD in Europe compares 13 countries.
Doctor of Science vs PhD: which is higher?
In the UK, the Doctor of Science is higher. QAA calls higher doctorates, typically the DSc, ScD and DLitt (Doctor of Letters), ‘a higher level of award’ than other doctorates. The University of Surrey says the same: its DSc sits above the qualifications in the national framework.
In the US, there may be no ranking at all. MIT awards the PhD and ScD interchangeably across its engineering and science schools, except in biology, cognitive science, neuroscience, medical engineering and medical physics. Coursework and expectations are ‘generally the same’, and students choose which degree they want.
| UK DSc | UK PhD | US DSc (WashU’s engineering rules) | |
|---|---|---|---|
| When | Years into a research career | After a Master’s or, in some subjects, a Bachelor’s | Instead of a PhD |
| How you get it | Submit work you’ve already published | Do supervised research, then write a thesis | Coursework, research and a dissertation |
| How it’s judged | Examiners or referees read the work | Thesis and an oral exam (viva) | Dissertation and a final exam |
| Supervision or teaching duty | Not mentioned in seven of the nine rules we read; Surrey appoints supervisors, Queen’s an adviser | A supervisor or supervisory team | No teaching requirement, unlike WashU’s PhD |
WashU’s two engineering degrees sit close together. Both need at least 72 units, a qualifying exam and a dissertation. The clearest difference is teaching. WashU’s 2026-27 bulletin has PhD students complete a mentored teaching or professional requirement set by their programme, while its undated comparison sheet gives DSc students no teaching requirement. That sheet sets different minimum grades too.
Common mistake: you’ll often read that a PhD is theoretical and a DSc is applied. We didn’t find that rule in any regulations we read, so judge a programme by its own rules, not by that label.
Whether a DSc is science-only varies. The University of Otago describes its DSc as ‘in some branch of science’, but Bangor University’s also covers, where appropriate, economics, social sciences, education and geography. The University of Oxford’s can go through its Social Sciences division.
Curious about other titles? Oxford calls its PhD a DPhil, which our DPhil vs PhD comparison explains. This guide to UK academic titles runs through the job ranks from PhD student to professor.
How do you get a DSc in the UK?
You apply with work you’ve already published. Nobody teaches you, and the University of Cambridge is blunt about it: a higher doctorate ‘is not a formal course of study’.
The details vary, but the rules we read broadly follow this pattern:
- Check you’re eligible. Most of this comes down to your link with the university and the time since your degrees.
- Send your publications with a statement. Loughborough University wants a synopsis of at least 1,000 words, and Bangor about 1,500 to 2,000. Imperial College London generally expects 10 to 12 pages and normally judges your 20 most significant publications. Oxford first asks for a statement of up to 10 sides of A4 and a list of key publications, and the University of Glasgow for a summary or account of your work and a list. Both ask for the full submission after the first check, and Glasgow’s must include a summary of 500 to 1,000 words.
- Pass a first check. Cambridge, Oxford, Loughborough, Bangor and Queen’s University Belfast look for a ‘prima facie’ case: on first reading, does your work look strong enough to examine? Imperial calls this initial vetting, and Glasgow asks whether the work appears to be of the required standard. The rules we read from Surrey and Newcastle University show no first check on quality.
- Wait for the examiners. At least two experts report on your work, and at Imperial, Loughborough, Newcastle and Bangor they all come from outside the university. Allow time: Cambridge warns the process may take longer than a year.
- Get a decision. Cambridge’s Physics and Chemistry committee says there’s no viva, while Bangor may invite you to an interview.
Two universities add more structure. Surrey appoints two supervisors and gives you 12 months from confirmed candidature to submit a portfolio of up to 50 works. That portfolio has an introductory chapter of up to 15,000 words and a closing chapter of up to 5,000.
Queen’s lists 12 months’ part-time study and an adviser in its regulations. Even so, both judge published work, and Queen’s also counts work accepted for publication.
Joint papers need care. Cambridge’s Physics and Chemistry committee, Imperial, Loughborough, Surrey, Oxford and Glasgow all ask you to set out your own contribution. If most of your record is co-authored, write that statement early, because it’s the part only you can provide.
Who can apply for a DSc, and what does it cost?
Normally, only people with a link to that university can apply for its Doctor of Science, often years after their first degree. All nine universities we checked limit entry to their own graduates, their staff or people who’ve done research there. Cost is harder to find: of the nine, only the Cambridge and Oxford pages we read give a figure.
| University | Who can apply, and when | Fee | Examined by |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cambridge | Cambridge graduates, or graduates elsewhere with a Cambridge MA under its statutes or an incorporated degree; 8 years from the date your first degree was conferred | £582 (£72, then £510) | At least two referees (Physics and Chemistry committee) |
| Oxford (suspended) | Oxford degree holders, or current or retired members of Congregation (not those only incorporated from Cambridge or Dublin) | £3,410: £310 kept if screening fails (August 2023 figures) | Two judges |
| Imperial | Imperial graduates, or academic staff of 2+ years | Set fee, not published in the regulations; part refunded if you can’t proceed | Three external referees |
| Loughborough | Graduates: 9 years after Bachelor’s, 8 after Master’s, 6 after PhD. Current or former academic staff: 9 years after first degree and 4 in post | Two parts, amounts not in the regulations | Three external examiners |
| Surrey | Graduates of 10+ years; current academic staff of 4+ continuous years; or research at or with Surrey in the last 15 years that led to a substantial part of the publications you submit | Two non-refundable fees, amounts not in the regulations | Three, at least two external |
| Bangor | Graduates: 2 years after PhD, 3 after Master’s, 10 after Bachelor’s. Staff: graduates elsewhere, 5 years full-time, and the same waits | On its website | Two external referees |
| Queen’s Belfast | Graduates, or staff of 4+ consecutive years; 10 years’ postdoctoral research experience expected | Not stated on its page | Not stated on its page |
| Newcastle (paused) | Graduates, or full-time academic staff of 7+ continuous years | Paid at submission, amount not in the regulations | Two external examiners |
| Glasgow | Graduates, 7 years after first graduating; staff of 4 years or researchers of 5, with 7 years’ standing as a graduate | Preliminary fee possible, deducted from the submission fee; amounts not in the regulations | At least two |
Sources: each university’s regulations or higher doctorates page, checked on 1 November 2026.
Where there’s a fixed wait, it runs from two years to 10. The rules start the clock at different points, so don’t compare them number for number. A short wait doesn’t make it easy, either. Bangor’s graduates can apply two years after a PhD, but its referees ask whether your work makes you ‘an acknowledged expert in the field’.
What this means for you: a UK DSc isn’t something you can plan as your next degree. It’s closer to asking your university to recognise work you’ve already done, and that only makes sense once you have the record.
Which universities have paused higher doctorate applications?
Three of the nine have closed or limited entry, so check the current position before you prepare anything. Each has made a different decision:
- Oxford has suspended applications for 2026/27 and 2027/28 while it consults further, and its page also says ‘for the foreseeable future’.
- Newcastle has paused new submissions for 2026/27.
- Cambridge has left the decision to each subject’s Degree Committee, from 1 October 2026. Nineteen have suspended applications, including Physics and Chemistry, Biology, Engineering and Mathematics. Computer Science and Technology, Divinity, English and Philosophy still accept all candidates, and History takes only candidates employed within the collegiate University when they apply.
If you’re a Cambridge scientist, check your committee first, because most of the science committees are on the suspended list. The Cambridge higher doctorates page gives each committee’s position, and it’s the one to check before applying.
Should you do a PhD or a DSc?
For most people reading this, the answer is a PhD, because a UK Doctor of Science isn’t an alternative way to start. Your situation decides it:
- You want your first doctorate in the UK. Look at what a PhD involves and how long a PhD takes.
- You have good publications but no doctorate. Look at a PhD by publication, which is built for this situation. Eligibility varies, though, and QAA says universities may award it infrequently. Some DSc rules let you apply from a Bachelor’s after a long wait (Bangor’s is 10 years), but the bar stays very high.
- You work outside universities and want a doctorate tied to your practice. A professional doctorate may suit you better.
- A university abroad offers a DSc degree you study for. Compare the requirements line by line: at WashU, for example, engineering PhD students have a mentored teaching or professional requirement, while the DSc has no teaching requirement. At MIT the choice is usually yours, so ask the department which name suits your plans.
- You’re looking at a DSc in India or Russia. At the universities we checked, it comes after a first doctorate, so it isn’t a choice between the two. Start with the first doctorate, then read your university’s regulations.
- You’re an established researcher. Start with the regulations of a university you graduated from, work at or have researched at, since that’s the link all nine we checked ask for. Cambridge’s Physics and Chemistry committee suggests asking a senior colleague in your field, not its committee members, whether your work is likely to be enough.
How can you check a Doctor of Science is genuine?
Check who awards the degree, not what it’s called. The title has no single meaning, so it’s easy for a programme to sound more senior than it is. These checks are worth five minutes before you pay anything:
- In the UK, use the government’s page to check a university can award a degree. It warns that employers or universities might not accept a degree that isn’t officially recognised.
- In the US, search the Department of Education’s database of accredited institutions. The Department doesn’t accredit institutions itself. The database holds what recognised accrediting and state approval agencies report, and that information isn’t audited, so confirm anything important with the agency.
- Elsewhere, ask the national information centre through the ENIC-NARIC networks, which cover 56 countries.
Be careful with any ‘DSc’ that’s mostly a short online course with fees up front and no named awarding body. That doesn’t prove it’s worthless, but you’d want clear answers before committing, and you can ask to see its regulations in writing.
You may also see an honorary DSc. QAA notes a higher doctorate can be honorary, recognising someone’s contribution to a field, and Glasgow’s rules allow for this. That’s an honour a university gives, so there’s nothing to apply for.
Your next step
If a Doctor of Science is years away, or was never what you were after, the useful next step is usually a PhD. You can search current PhD opportunities by subject and funding to see what’s open now. If you’re further along, start with your own university’s regulations. Find out whether it’s accepting applications, then gather your publications and draft your statement of contribution.
Sources
- QAA: Characteristics Statement, Doctoral Degree (2020)
- University of Cambridge, Physics and Chemistry Degree Committee: ScD and LittD
- University of Oxford: Higher Doctorates
- Imperial College London: DSc Regulations 2026/27
- Loughborough University: Regulation XXVII, Higher Doctorates
- University of Surrey: Regulations for Higher Doctorates 2026/27
- Bangor University: Regulations for Senior Doctorates
- Queen’s University Belfast: Higher Doctorates
- Newcastle University: Regulations for Higher Degrees 2026-27
- University of Glasgow: Regulations for Postgraduate Research Awards 2026-27, section 6.13
- University of Glasgow: Honorary and official degrees 2026-27
- University of Otago: Doctor of Science
- MIT: Doctoral Degrees
- Washington University in St. Louis: DSc and PhD Comparison
- Washington University in St. Louis: Graduate Engineering Bulletin 2026-27
- Aalto University: Doctoral studies
- Aalto University: Engineering doctoral curriculum 2024-2026
- Alagappa University: DSc and DLitt Regulations (April 2025)
- Gurukula Kangri: DSc and DLitt Regulations 2026-27
- Kazan Federal University: Doctoral degree system
- LIMES Institute, University of Bonn: PhD (Dr. rer. nat.)